Abby Sports and Collectibles
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Bituminous Blast with no target.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Sam



Posts : 268
Join date : 2009-10-25
Location : Abbotsford

PostSubject: Bituminous Blast with no target.   Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:25 pm

Bituminous Blast can not be cast unless there is a valid target. But, what happens when there is a valid target at the time Bit Blast is announced and that target somehow becomes illegal before Bit Blast resolves?

This circumstance could happen many ways. For example the target creature leaving the battlefield or receiving protection. Before resolving, Bit Blast checks it's original target and if it is no longer legal Bit Blast is countered (fizzles).

However, Cascade is a triggered ability. As soon as Bit Blast is moved onto the stack the Cascade ability is also added to the stack, directly above the Bit Blast. Therefore, the Cascade ability resolves even if Bit Blast is countered.

Quote :
702.82. Cascade

702.82a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. “Cascade” means “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell’s converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled from the game this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.”

702.82b If a spell has multiple instances of cascade, each triggers separately.

I was wrong before, Warren, sorry about that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mythic Matt

avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: Bituminous Blast with no target.   Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:39 am

Sam was wrong?! affraid
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Bituminous Blast with no target.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New kites for Blast, for 2010
» Blast Frozen Jam '11
» New Blast Team Rider
» Blast Kiteboarding Hoodie's
» "Dade's Blast From the past"

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
abbycardshop :: Games :: Magic the Gathering :: Magic Rules & FAQs-
Jump to: