Abby Sports and Collectibles
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Vengevine and Devour

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Namemattersnot

avatar

Posts : 130
Join date : 2009-11-08
Age : 28

PostSubject: Vengevine and Devour   Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:43 pm

I just want to know if I can play a creature, play another with devour, eating Vengevine, then immediately get it back.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Warren "The Proxy" Hallam



Posts : 156
Join date : 2009-10-14

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Sun Apr 25, 2010 7:12 pm

I doubt it, the card reads:

Haste. Whenever you cast a spell, if it's the second creature spell you cast this turn, you may return Vengevine from your graveyard to the battlefield.


Which to me implies it checks for conditions when it's cast and devour takes place when it enters the battlefield
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sam



Posts : 268
Join date : 2009-10-25
Location : Abbotsford

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Sun Apr 25, 2010 10:23 pm

The wording makes me realize that I can cast Vengevine and attack with it. Then, it if dies, all I have to do is cast another creature spell and Vengevine pops back up same turn.

There are going to be some crazy decks with this guy. I really like some G/W shells I've seen involving Vengevine, Noble Heirarch, KotR, and the Mystic toolbox. Sort of a cross between Mythic Bant and Boss Naya, but with only G/W.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Brandon C

avatar

Posts : 87
Join date : 2009-09-27

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:33 am

Ya I'm pretty sure Warrens correct - since the creature with Devour would have to already enter the battlefield, and at that time Vengevine would still be alive, you wouldn't get him back.

Agree with you completely Sam, G/W vengevine decks are going to be amazing by the looks of things. One interesting tactic being discussed is using Kor Skyfisher as a vengevine enabler. You can cast Kor Skyfisher, return the same Skyfisher to your hand, then cast it again and return it to your hand again. It counts as casting 2 creatures, recurring all Vengevines in your graveyard, and you still have the Skyfisher to do it again next turn. All for 2WW.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Namemattersnot

avatar

Posts : 130
Join date : 2009-11-08
Age : 28

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:34 pm

Warren is right, but you can play a devour creature eating the Vengevine, then play another creature to get it back.

Sam, I hadn't thought of that, but its true. Seems like a good way to go. I guess I'm looking for two more Vengevines then.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guitar Hero

avatar

Posts : 218
Join date : 2009-12-19
Age : 33
Location : Abby

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:50 pm

I, also, am looking for a playset of vengevines.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mythic Matt

avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   Wed May 05, 2010 9:54 pm

Stupid Vengevines...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Vengevine and Devour   

Back to top Go down
 
Vengevine and Devour
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
abbycardshop :: Games :: Magic the Gathering :: Magic Rules & FAQs-
Jump to: