Abby Sports and Collectibles
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Combat damage to multiple blockers

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Sam



Posts : 268
Join date : 2009-10-25
Location : Abbotsford

PostSubject: Combat damage to multiple blockers   Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:15 pm

I had a discussion with Warren today about how combat damage is dealt to multiple blockers. I looked it up after I got home and this is what I found:

Quote :
510.1. First, the active player announces how each attacking creature assigns its combat damage, then
the defending player announces how each blocking creature assigns its combat damage. This turnbased
action doesn’t use the stack. A player assigns a creature’s combat damage according to the
following rules:

...

The crux of our discussion pertained to who gets to decide the order in which damage is dealt to the blocking creatures, the attacker or the defender. I interpret he rules quoted above to read that in the case of multiple blockers to a single attacking creature, it is the attacking player who decides the order in which the blocking creatures will receive damage.

Here is a link to a video explaining the new combat rules, the section relevant to this discussion starts at 5:30

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Warren "The Proxy" Hallam



Posts : 156
Join date : 2009-10-14

PostSubject: Re: Combat damage to multiple blockers   Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:11 am

Very interesting, I think you're right, the first time I may have misinterpreted who the narrator is speaking to when he says "you" at 5:45.

Does anybody have a second source? I'll thumb through the rule book later and see if I can find anything.

If this is true how does this deviate from the rules prior to M10? Were you previously allowed to deal less then lethal damage to one of the blockers and move on to the second target?


Last edited by Warren "The Proxy" Hallam on Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:32 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Warren "The Proxy" Hallam



Posts : 156
Join date : 2009-10-14

PostSubject: Re: Combat damage to multiple blockers   Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:15 am

Yeah I think you're right, I read this first

Page 16

If an attacking creature is blocked by multiple creatures, you divide its combat
damage among them by assigning at least enough damage to the first blocking creature in line to destroy it before assigning damage to the next one in line,


Which is ambiguous about who the "you" is referring to attacker or blocker BUT on the second reference


Page 11

"If one of your attacking creatures is blocked by multiple creatures, you decide how to
divide its combat damage among them. You must assign at least enough damage to the first blocking creature in line to destroy it before you can assign damage to the next one in line, and so on."



The "your attacking creature is blocked, you decide" part pretty heavily supports the idea that it's the attacker who chooses.


Move posts to rules/faq is possible (no idea who's modding atm)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sam



Posts : 268
Join date : 2009-10-25
Location : Abbotsford

PostSubject: Re: Combat damage to multiple blockers   Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:42 am

Prior to the M2010 rules changes, an attacking creature without trample dealt all it's combat damage to one target of the attacker's choosing. For example, a 9/9 non trample attacking creature is blocked by three 3/1 creatures. The attacker then chooses one of the blocking 3/1 creatures to deal 9 damage to. In this example, barring any instants or abilities, the attacking creature and the chosen blocking creature will go to the graveyard when combat damage resolves.

After the M2010 rules changes, the attacker can now divide it's combat damage among blockers with or without having the trample ability. For example, a 9/9 non trample attacking creature is blocked by three 3/1 creatures. The attacker then chooses the order in which his creature will deal damage to the blocking creatures. The attacker then chooses the amount of damage dealt to each creature, provided lethal damage is dealt to each creature in order. In this example, barring any instants or abilities triggering, all four creatures will now go to the graveyard when combat damage resolves. If the 9/9 attacking creature had trample, the attacker could choose to deal the remaining 6 damage left over after lethal damage was dealt to all blocking creatures to the defending player.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mythic Matt

avatar

Posts : 84
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 36

PostSubject: Re: Combat damage to multiple blockers   Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:00 pm

Here's the new Deathtouch rulings they differ slightly.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Combat damage to multiple blockers   

Back to top Go down
 
Combat damage to multiple blockers
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» FISH DAMAGE
» 19 RAF 'A' Flight Combat Air Patrol 09/05
» Blank Report Paper
» 28-Year old Russian multiple European champion commits suicide
» New Zealand judoka fight off multiple attackers

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
abbycardshop :: Games :: Magic the Gathering :: Magic Rules & FAQs-
Jump to: